Addriana

Stop telling God how big your storm is…

In Uncategorized on January 23, 2013 at 5:50 AM

Image

“Stop telling God how big your storm is, tell your storm how big your God is!”

This day started of beautiful, warm and sunny…then something changed, it became dark, grim and an ominous cloud rolled in. This cloud was threatening, real and was about to do some real damage. In my mind, I played the entire movie “Twister,” cows flying an all! Ok well, there are no cow on the beach but you get my drift! However, the movie I played in my mind, never surfaced…the storm blew right over us and continued on its scary path.

Such is life, we start off happy go-lucky and suddenly something changes and threatens the very core of our being. We begin to focus on the storm/problem and pray the problem and not the solution. How many of us including myself have said this type of prayer, “Oh God I’m in need, I want a better job, I can’t take my boss or coworkers any more. I need new position…” You are praying the problem. Pray God’s promises, “God you know I am not happy at my job and in Your Word You say,You will meet all my needs according to the riches of Your glory in Christ Jesus.” Focus on the promise not the problem. You are not meant to live a status quo life, you are meant for more but you have to look beyond your circumstance. Look beyond your circumstance and look to the One who can empower and teach us to live above our adversity.

Acts 3: 2-7 states, “Now a man who was lame from birth was being carried to the temple gate called Beautiful, where he was put every day to beg from those going into the temple courts. When he saw Peter and John about to enter, he asked them for money. Peter looked straight at him, as did John. Then Peter said, “Look at us!” So the man gave them his attention, expecting to get something from them.”

This lame man focused on the problem. He was carried to the temple everyday of his life and begged for scraps accepting status quo. It is what it is…Geez, I’ve said that a million times.  What the lame man didn’t know is while he saw himself as hopeless, God saw him as HOPE restored. Peter knew this man had to look away from his circumstance, his status quo,  in order to receive a life he never thought possible. The lame man had to reposition himself to receive the gift of the fullness of love which was to walk in the name of Jesus. God has beauty he wants to bring forth in you and through you. Even though those around the lame man and you say life will never change and the situation seems impossible, God had a different plan. And God has a different agenda for you.You need to look away from your circumstance and receive the life God has for in store for you.

What circumstance are you facing, causing you to accept things as they are?

  1. […] Stop telling God how big your storm is…. […]

  2. I just stumbled across your blog, Ms. Montalvo and I am trying to read it from your first posting through. I am enjoying it so much. It is amazing how many more prayers I see answered when I ask for God’s guidance and His will for my life.

    • My prayer is that everyone finds an answer in them. God has used my mess and turned it into my message, my tests into my testimony and my disappointments into His-appointments. It has been a liberating experience to be able to share and be so transparent. Thank you for your kind words and I will hold you up in prayer. God’s peace be with you now and always.

      Addriana

Comment

