Addriana

Off to see Who?

In Uncategorized on February 4, 2013 at 5:40 AM

As a child I loved the movie the Wizard of Oz . It’s a story of misfits that somehow meet each other and together help make one another’s dreams a come true. Apart, they we stuck in a rut but together they harnessed the power of love, wisdom, courage and believing; dreams really do come true.  This week I want to look at each character; who realized that what they were looking for they already possessed…they just didn’t know it. Truly the story of my life!

Dorothy, the dreamer  lived in a gray world, there she dreamed of color, and a life beyond the rainbow. But on the farm in Kansas, there was only gray. Her dreams dulled by her environment. Can you relate to her? What did you dream of as a child? How have those dreams changed? Did you choose to lay them down or did you have to because of the dullness surrounding you? Do you even remember what they were?  What stopped you from pursuing that dream? Are they somewhere over the rainbow?

Some may have lost a dream because of a life changing event or it just dissipated into this gray world. I know in my life I lost my dreams of being a princess because of the man who robbed me of my innocence at 9 years old. Then I find my “prince charming” and we ride into the sunset only to live out a nightmare. Dreams shatter, but one thing I know, when a dream dies we can fix our gaze solely on what lies behind us in the dust or with God‘s help we can turn around and dream a new dream.  I learned  that in the moment when everything was going wrong I experienced God’s love and mercy. There He put things right in my heart and soul and I was able to let go and get on with the life God intended for me, pursuing my purpose, aware of who I am and whose I am.

Image

I spent a very long time learning this lesson. I focused on what I saw or what I didn’t have; just like the characters in the Wizard of Oz. Never thinking, everything I needed was always with me, in me and molding me.  At the end of the story Dorothy was the only one who had not received anything from the Wizard. Dorothy turned to Glinda and said, “You have not yet told me how to get back to Kansas.” Glinda tells Dorothy that the ruby slippers had the power to take her home the very first day. She didn’t know what she had been given or consequently, who she was. But in the journey she found her authentic self, once she realized this she was never to be fooled again..the power to get her life back was ALWAYS in her. ~ God Has a Dream For Your Life – Sheila Walsh

I believe with all my heart that God has a dream for your life, that is far greater than any you could dream for yourself. Remember the power of God is always with you; Deuteronomy 3:6, “for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.”    You just need to learn to harvest His love, wisdom and courage then walk out in Faith. He will lead you down your “yellow brick road.”

I acknowledge that I can do nothing about the loss dreams, I cannot undo it and that my regrets have accomplished nothing. So I laid my pain and loss at His feet, and allowed Him to comfort me, allowed him to love me, allowed Him to extend His arms and hold me and there was where I met my rebirth and got on with what matter most is to love and be loved.  So here I am, dreaming new dreams, chasing rainbows, dancing in the rain and living in “color.” Because everything I will ever need is with me…My God, My Savior and My Counselor!

Proverbs 31:25 “strength and dignity are her clothing and she laughs with no fear of the future.”

 Photo Credit:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/tom-margie/3087960715/

 

  1. LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!! And Dorothy was not alone she had 3 walking with her down that road and when opposition showed up the (Wicked Witch) they sprung into action and when opposition threatened her wooooooooo they got lit and said ” You know what we are with you mamacita and we will make sure you make it to your final destination weither we get what we need or not we are there with you all the way”. We sometimes feel like where alone on this damn road but we are not we also have the power of 3 and they most def got our backs the Father, Son & Holy Spirit. They are going to see that we make it all the way to the end because as you said the word says God is always with us; Deuteronomy 3:6, “for the LORD your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” Trust and believe that somewhere over the rainbow is not that far away but it lies right inside of you and you can do all things because of it. Your equipped for the walk, skip or run down the yellow brick road just keep going Emerald City (Heaven) is your Kingdom and this walk will sometimes knock us down BUT get up wipe the dirty off your knees and walk it out in your most fabulous Ruby Slippers because if you ask me getting to Emerald City (Heaven) is WORTH THE EXERCISE!!!! OH TO THE SNAP YO!!!!

    • AMEN!!! AND I DO LOVE THE SHOES I’M WALKING IN RIGHT ABOUT NOW!!! The next couple of day I’ll be dealing with her friends that helped, encouraged and pushed Dorothy beyond her own strength, just like you guys in my life. Beautiful comment! I may use this in my Friday summary…YO!

  2. WHO WOULD OF THOUGHT OF USING THE WIZARD OF OZ AS AN EXAMPLE, BUT I UNDERSTAND, DOROTHY WAS NEVER ALONE. SHE HAD BACK-UP THROUGH HER WHOLE JOURNEY, SO DO WE, IT’S THAT WE DON’T FOCUS WHAT’S AROUND US WEATHER IT’S NEGATIVE OR POSITIVE…..THNX MITA FOR SHARING ND MAKING IT EASY FOR ME TO UNDERSTAND……..I LOVE UR STORIES,,,,,,,,,GB

    • Yeap tomorrow I going to be writing about the scarecrow. You’ll see the movie with a whole new set of eyes. Thanks for you support and encouragement! Stay blessed!

Comment

