Addriana

Heart of the Tin Man

In Uncategorized on February 6, 2013 at 6:00 AM

As I continue to address the characters of the Wizard of Oz, I want to address the Tin Man in particular. How did he lose his heart? Did he actually lose it or was it hardened by those around him? What took his ability to love and be loved?

Dorothy found him rusted in the woods. The Tin Man was a real man according to the book. He fell in love with a servant girl of the Wicked Witch of the West. The girl’s father did not approve of Nick Chopper and tricked the witch into casting a spell on him, ultimately Nick became The Tin Man.

Image

However, in the play Wicked, the Witch of the East Nessa,  botches up a spell as she tries  to make Boq, a munchkin love her. Neither she, nor Elphaba the Wicked Witch of the West knew what they were doing, tragically instead of making him fall in love, his heart began to shrink. In order to keep Boq alive, Elphaba had no choice but to turn him into a man of tin with no need of a heart. He verbally attacks Nessa with words of hate and is literally leads a “witch” hunt against Elphaba.

WORDS, WORDS. WORDS…of gossip, of lies, of insults, of pain. Words kill! They are daggers to the heart of the recipient. I know…I was once told that in spite of the way I looked, I was loved. Huh? What? Was that suppose to be sweet nothings!?! Verbal abuse is the hardest type of abuse to overcome. It cuts through the very fabric of your being, your soul. It was because of this I hid my feeling, I guarded my heart like Fort Knox and allowed it to become hardened. I lived the life of the Tin Man. No heart…though it seemed like I participated in the “joys” of life, I was numbed. You probably can relate, maybe that is exactly where you find yourself today. I know you think its safe…but it truly is a cold and lonely world. I learned early in life that trust is to much of a risk factor and convinced myself it was not worth the effort. So relationships were best kept at a “safe” distance. It didn’t matter who it was, don’t get too close or my heart would be exposed. There is so much more for you than keeping the heart hidden and the soul cold.

God wants to love you – every single part of you and that includes the hidden parts of your heart. But for that to happen the is something you have to be willing to do…TRUST. OH!!! I know it’s easier said than done. Here’s my story in a nutshell; father leaves my mother with 5 children all under the age of 10, a man whom I was entrusted to tried to rape me at 9, I marry my “prince” to which my best friend thought he was her prince as well, living in verbal and physical abuse led me to get “rid” of my heart. Trust was something for stupid people who wanted to be taken advantage of and I resented God the “Father”. I mean seriously, why would I trust Him? It would  only lead me down the road of disappointments. Thus, God got only the portion I afforded Him to have, nothing more.

But God…was waiting for me because at the end of myself, He was there with opened arms. He found me and loved me just as I was. Just as you are right now, God loves you and that will NEVER change. I learned that love and hate could not occupy the same space and one or the other had to get evicted.

In 1 John 4:10 we read, “This is love: not that we loved God, but that HE loved us first and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.”  We do nothing to earn God’s love and we cannot lose it…it is His Grace (unmerited favor). God can take the most battered, broke heart and teach it to love again. When your heart is broken you stand in the perfect place for a resurrection; a newer, stronger, more improved you! There is where your disappointments meet HIS-appointments and you can get on with what matters most…to love and be loved.

Image

  1. Funny cuz in the movie and book when Glinda puts a spell on the poppy seeds so that when Dorthy goes through them to get to the Kingdom (Emerald City) it becomes the means to have her fail and not make it so what happens Dorothy, Lion and Toto are the only ones who the spell effects. The Scarecrow and the Tin Man WHOM are not made of flesh are not affected by the spell. What effects the Tin man is not the spell (sin) but his reaction to what he sees his friends going through because of the spell (sin) and he begins to cry and rust in the movie. Sometimes we might not be the ones the sin is directly aimed at but many around us who love us and have our backs are. Before you act a hot mess PLEASE remember those around you that this sin will effect as well. Cuz just like in the book it was the ones that did not have FLESH (Tin Man & Scarecrow) that managed to help Dorothy out of that hole she was in. The Lion and Toto fleshly beings couldn’t do a damn thing for her JUST SAYING!!!!

    • The flesh is weak…our battle is not of flesh and blood, it is only through Christ’s supernatural resurrection that His spirit dwells in us and we can go forth! Liz awesome comment!

Comment

