Addriana

She Defied Gravity!!!

In Uncategorized on February 8, 2013 at 6:00 AM
Defy Gravity

Defy Gravity

I like to end my weekly blogs with something comical. Several years ago my sister and her daughter wanted to see WickedI offered to take them as their Christmas gift IF we would go dressed up as the characters…if you know me , you know I am a lover of having fun. They agreed, I wanted to be beautiful Glinda, my sister would be the Wicked Witch of the West, Elphaba and her daughter the Wicked Witch of the East, Nessa. We really didn’t know much about the story line except, it was of Oz before Dorothy and Toto arrived. Oct. 30th,  we were in full on authentic costumes: Glinda-me huge, pink, glittery gown, blonde wig, wand and silver crown, my sister Liz as Elphaba in a black witch plus size costume and my niece Cassy as Nessa, right down to a wooden house on her head, ruby slippers and striped socks. We were running late and as I drove on the Belt Parkway in NYC, a car pulls up on my side, I’m thinking I must have cut him off and he’s gonna flip the bird at me. I speed up, and he does to! Now picture this Ga-Linda is driving a blue van in NYC with two other witches. Finally, I pull my window down…his daughter, maybe 3 yrs old, is in the back seat dressed as Dorothy. He yells out to her, “See honey, they are real…they just don’t fly on brooms or in bubbles anymore! Only in NYC!

What I thought was, was not and what wasn’t was. Wicked opens up with Glinda asking “Are people born wicked, or is wickedness thrust upon them?” Nothing is as it seems in Oz and the lines between good and bad are blurred.

As we sat people, I was thrilled to be Glinda, the pretty one, the nice one and the one who makes miracles happen! HA!!! So I thought, she turns out to be one of those “mean” girls. She is self-centered, concerned about appearance,  too caught up in her life to care about anyone else, and popular no matter the cost (not me). Help!!! I’m Melting!!! YEAP THAT’S ME GLINDA melting in my seat! As it turns out Glinda has some self-esteem issues and Elphaba taught her what it meant to truly live beyond the glamour.  She learned that being popular was not as important a being loved by a true friend, she became Elphaba’s confidant, shoulder to lean on and protector.

Elphaba was treated differently because of her green complexion. She stands up for what is right and speaks her mind. She refuse to compromise her morals and ethics. When doesn’t cast  an evil spell for the Wizard, he spreads rumors of her and Elphaba became the “wicked” one. People judge her because her looks, Elphaba became the outcast of Oz. She loves her sister Nessa, more than anyone. But in doing good deeds and not comprising her morals she is persecuted by the Wizard, hunted down to be killed for doing what was right. Elphaba discovers that The Wizard of Oz is not the heroic figure she had originally believed him to be and Glinda attempts to dissuade her. Elphaba vows to do everything in her power to fight the Wizard and his sinister plans against the Animals of Oz. She sings of how she wants to live without limits, going against the rules that others have set for her. Nessa is killed in order to bring Elphaba out of hiding .In singing Defying Gravity, Elphaba has had enough:

Something has changed within me, Something is not the same

I’m through with playing by the rules, Of someone else’s game

Too late for second-guessing, Too late to go back to sleep

It’s time to trust my instincts, Close my eyes: and leap! 

It’s time to try, Defying gravity

I think I’ll try, Defying gravity

And you can’t pull me down! 

GLINDA

Can’t I make you understand?

You’re having delusions of grandeur: 

ELPHABA

I’m through accepting limits, ”cause someone says they’re so

Some things I cannot change, But till I try, I’ll never know!

Too long I’ve been afraid of, Losing love I guess I’ve lost

Well, if that’s love, It comes at much too high a cost!

I’d sooner buy, Defying gravity

Kiss me goodbye, I’m defying gravity

And you can’t pull me down…

Have your ever been there? That place where enough is enough, no compromise, no settling for things as they are, no more hiding behind the “green” complexion, NO MORE! Many times it takes rock bottom, to learn to look up and defy gravity.  When enough becomes enough and compromising to please others brings no results of any glimpse of joy in our lives. This is not why your Lord and Savior came…for you to just settle in and take it from the rest of the world. He came to give you His breath of LIFE, His Living Word.

Ephesians 6:10-18,  “God is strong, and he wants you strong. So take everything the Master has set out for you, well-made weapons of the best materials. And put them to use so you will be able to stand up to everything the Devil throws your way. This is no afternoon athletic contest that we’ll walk away from and forget about in a couple of hours. This is for keeps, a life-or-death fight to the finish against the Devil and all his angels. Be prepared. You’re up against far more than you can handle on your own. Take all the help you can get, every weapon God has issued, so that when it’s all over but the shouting you’ll still be on your feet. Truth, righteousness, peace, faith, and salvation are more than words. Learn how to apply them. You’ll need them throughout your life. God’s Word is an indispensable weapon. In the same way, prayer is essential in this ongoing warfare. Pray hard and long. Pray for your brothers and sisters. Keep your eyes open. Keep each other’s spirits up so that no one falls behind or drops out.”

Inadvertently, I chose the right character for my sister and I…she has been heavy all her life and that’s putting it nicely. She is sassy, beautiful and was obese. Yes, people treated her different based on her weight (her green complexion). Then you have those people who would “compliment” her and say, “but you have a pretty face.” Like, that’s all she is – a face. Fall of 2012 WAS ONE OF THE MOST DIFFICULT CRISIS, we had to endure. Her husband of 23 years did not turn out to be  the heroic figure she had originally believed him to be. It seemed like every where she turned there were the those who thrived in Liz’s pain. She was broken, emotionally battered, and ready to just give in. But giving in was not an option afforded to her because with everything I had in me,  WE were going to fight, we were unlimited!   For God did not give us a spirit of timidity, but a spirit of power, of love and of self-discipline. 2 Tim. 1:7   Together we’re unlimited, Together  we are the greatest team, There’s ever been! Dreams, the way we planned ’em…”

Liz had to let go of her past, let it die in order to find her true  authentic self. Just like Elphaba, Liz had to walk away from all that she thought was because it was not and  what wasn’t,  was.  Liz NEVER compromised who she was and whose she was! She knows, that she know…

She is a Princess Warrior covered in the righteousness of Christ and Hell trembles because she has finally realized  it!!

Defying Gravity

Defying Gravity

Liz has defied gravity by losing 90 pounds in 6 months: no gimmicks, surgery, pills or diet.

Nobody was ever going to bring her DOWN!!!

I know you’re HAPPY!!!

  1. AMEN!!!! Excellent message today. Liz looks wonderful!!! Birth to earth!

  2. UNLIMITED TOGETHER WERE UNLIMITED!!!! TOGETHER WE’LL BE THE GREATEST TEAM THERE’S EVER BEEN! SHEDDING TEARS IS JUST AS EFFECTIVE AS SHEDDING POUNDS TELL THEM HOW I AM DEFYING GRAVITY. THEY’LL NEVER BRING US DOWN! SOMETHING HAS CHANGED WITHIN ME I’M THROUGH WITH PLAYING BY THE RULES OF SOMEONE ELSES GAME!

  3. I love you Liz, and all your family, you are all special in my heart… You inspire me, even in the midst of this time I am going through… I only pray I can also reach that turning point again, as I am trying to defy gravity…once and for all… God bless

    • It will happen! Read my struggle to Soar blog. There is that defining moment that you look unto the One who will empower you to rise above the duress of your adversity. He’s just waiting for a total releasing! You’ve come to that cliff in ur life. Three things can happen you can Stand there frozen in fear or you can jump. Then 2 things can happen God will either catch you or teach u to FLY:Defying gravity!!!

  4. how can one person have so such in their mind………..you mita have been blessed with so much knowledge, then again ppl learn through struggles, trials nd tribulations. I’m not saying others have them more than i’ve had, but for the pass three yrs it’s been so hard for me, that it takes me like three months to read a book……..but enough of that, our almighty creator is helping me with my struggles………….the story is awesome the words in between the lines are understandable nd i look forward to reading ur blogs…………..i don’t know if i’m making any sense but that’s just how i’m feeling right now……………i’m going to learn how to fly, nd i need to learn to defy gravity……….GB

    • AMEN. Trust me I am a perfect example of “apart from The Lord” I would be nothing. Lessons of life are hard to learn. Sometimes it takes a few blows Bfor we get the message. Like I say all the time… My mess has become my message for a long time I was angry at God… But He knew what he was going to do with it all! I am blessed to be just a secretary to His dictations!

Comment

