Addriana

FIT-FOR-FAT

In Uncategorized on March 4, 2013 at 5:34 AM

My husband works at a local vitamin and supplement store. March is here and warm weather is approaching and so is the clientele looking for the magic pill/diet to “look good” for the summer. HERE’S A NEWS FLASH, there is no magic when it comes to becoming healthy and fit!!! Since this is the first  week of March I want to speak on getting healthy: not skinny, not diet, and not easy. The diet industry is a multi-billion dollar industry preying upon your desires to look like the man or woman on their ad campaign. Here’s another NEWS FLASH, those are models who probably never used the pill or diet to get to where they are and look the way they do. I am not saying that the pills don’t work or that the diet won’t work. They do and will probably do what they promise but here’s where the cycle begins. You start the pill/diet, you feel better, it seems to work, weight comes off, fine print says not to consume for more than 3-6 months, you stop, weight begins to creep on, you’re back to where you started + 10lbs, you start the pill/diet again and the wheel goes around and around. Cha-Ching this is why the diet industry has not lost a penny in this economy!

I KNOW I’VE BEEN THERE DONE THAT! You name the pill, you name the diet, you name the fast and I have attempted it, lost the weight but never kept it off. I even went to the extreme of pills and barely eating enough food  to warrant a complete meal a day. Oh, I lost weight, I also lost my hair, lost my health and fainted in front of a bunch of  elementary children who thought I died (true story). The hospital performed a bunch of tests; my hemoglobin level was at 6.5, the normal range for a woman is 12.1 to 15.1 making me  chronically anemic. As I waited for the doctor, I began to ask God “Why?” was He doing this to me and the answer hit me like a punch in the chest! HE’S NOT!!! I was doing this to myself. Isn’t that funny, we do things that we know is not smart, good or wise then as soon as the stuff hits the fan, we blame God.

I knew I was hurting my body with the pills and lack of food but when I literally hit the floor, God got the blame. Can anyone relate to this? As I stated before my husband knows fitness because he lives it. Right around this time of the year he comes home frustrated because of  the customers looking for the magic pill. He is a proponent of eating right and exercise. He always tried to explain it to me but I too just wanted the quick fix. Until I winded up in the hospital.

50 & 55 Never Felt So Good!

50 & 55 Never Felt So Good!

I began to do research about nutrition (not a diet). Eating right, period! What foods were beneficial for the body, immune system, hair, skin, nails. It was rather interesting to see how God in His infinite wisdom gave us everything we need to live a healthy life. Then I read on about the benefits of exercise and how it affects our muscles, bones as well as the immune system and brain function.

COULD IT REALLY BE THAT EASY?!?! COULD IT REALLY BE AS SIMPLE AS EATING RIGHT AND EXERCISE?!?!? Talk about missing the boat! That’s when my quest  to a healthier me, began. Notice I didn’t say skinnier me. In 1 Corinthians 6:19-20, we are asked  “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” God gave me this body and I’m going to take care of it. In doing this I will bring honor and glory to God but in the same respect I will be healthy able to perform The Great Commission that God has called me/us to do.

This is the secret that the diet industry doesn’t want you to know. YOU CAN DO IT, just by using some easy guidelines which I will post throughout the week. Believe or not they are Biblical standards that will save you a ton of money and its free, just like the Word of God.

It wasn’t an easy road but I’m here to say save your money for the new clothes you’ll have to buy once you learn these principles. I’m not going to give you any difficult exercise regimen or extreme diets. Just a few simple changes will make all the difference. TRUST ME…BEEN THERE AND DONE THAT!!!

First of all God wants you to be healthy: 3 John1:2, “Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.”

Sugar = Heroin?

REALLY?

Today I challenge you to just give up white sugar. Eating it causes a biochemical chain reaction that leads to a temporary increase in the hormone serotonin. Serotonin is our “feel good” hormone. It helps us feel more relaxed, less anxious, less stressed, and improves our mood. This is the well-known “sugar high”. The key word here is temporary. Once the high is gone, the body desires to return to it. Thus, sugar can become an addiction; and it is a very difficult one to break. According to brain scans, sugar is as addictive as cocaine, even heroin, a California-based endocrinologist told CBS News’ “60 Minutes… Lustig says his research proves that the sweet stuff causes heart disease and cancer, as well as Type 2 diabetes and obesity.” The more you get…the more you want! I went through a nasty three-week withdrawal including headaches, body aches, nightmares and flu-like symptoms that convinced me that sugar is indeed addictive. I emerged from it feeling great, energized and supercharged. Lets say this is the only change you make, you can lose approximately 30lbs. in one year by doing nothing more that giving up sugar!

God has given us natural sweeteners: honey, agave nectar, stevia, black sap molasses try them…no they won’t make your coffee, ice tea taste or other drink taste like it did with the white stuff but indulge in these rich, natural alternative that comes with an added perk—like the power to lower your cholesterol, or a potent dose of iron.

What do you have to lose but a few pounds and an addiction that is destroying your body, your temple and the energy to get up and get moving!!!

CHALLENGE DAY 1 – Drink water, don’t give in to sugar, and if you feel like you’re going crazy it’s because your body is going through withdrawal…go climb a tree! LOL! No seriously go do something to take your mind off of it. It won’t be easy but I’m here to say it will be worth it!

Tomorrow…W.W.J.E: What would Jesus Eat? See you then!

  1. Amen!!! This is very true taking care of yourself is just that taking care of yourself and that means eating right, exercising, laughing, traveling, reading, whatever is healthy and good for you and makes you happy. I can tell you eating healthier and exercise works better than any diet or diet pill I ever used.

    • Exactly, you put junk in you get junk out. You put in God’s provisions you get God’s provisions; healthy heart, mind and body!

  2. Thanks yet again.. Needed this reminder..I know what to do i just need to be like Nike “And JUST DO IT!!” … #word in due season..

  3. looking forward to getting health.:-)

Comment

