Addriana

Dying to Eat

In Uncategorized on March 6, 2013 at 5:38 AM

“What Would Jesus Eat?” Dr. Don Colbert, is the first to note the obvious health benefits of what Jesus ate,  he reveals the sensible approach to healthy eating laid out by the ultimate role model. I am the epitome of a picky eater, top that off with someone who doesn’t necessarily enjoy vegetables and you have the making of a nutritionist’s nightmare. Yesterday, so far this week I’ve challenged you to drink water and walk away from the white stuff, sugar. I tried the pills, diets and because of my ignorance I winded up in the hospital severely dehydrated, undernourished and chronically anemic.

Healthcare

Healthcare

When I got home from the hospital I began to research and learn why food was so important. Of course it keeps us alive but what it does for our bodies is simply amazing. How the proper nourishment leads to a healthier body, which leads to a more energized self. On the flip side, I also learned how food can cause havoc in our bodies, leaving us obese, depressed and sick. It is true what we read in Hosea 4: 6,  “My people perish from a lack of knowledge.” I thought if I lost weight I would look good, right? America’s idea of beauty is a size 0, don’t believe me? Look at any fashion magazine, television show, etc. you will find, über thin women and men. We are literally killing ourselves by either overeating or not eating enough. Enough of what you may ask? Enough proper nutrients to sustain and maintain health.

W.W.J.E., is an interesting concept because the author suggests, if more people were to consume whole foods and eat less refined and processed foods there would a significant change in our overall health.  With that said I would like educate you on some nutrition terminology, I didn’t know the difference between protein and carbs so this may be true for a few of you as well.

Genesis 9:3 “I have given them to you for food, just as I have given you grain and vegetables.” Sources of Protein: I laugh because I usually tell people if it moves or is a by-product of something that moves, then it’s a protein. This is true except for the legumes, nut,  and seeds.

  • meats, poultry, and fish
  • legumes (dry beans and peas)
  • tofu
  • eggs
  • nuts and seeds
  • milk and milk products

Genesis 1:29 God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.” Sources of naturally occurring carbohydrates include:

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Milk
  • Nuts
  • Grains
  • Seeds
  • Legumes

And fats; YES I SAID FATS! There are good fats and bad fats. To understand good and bad fats, you need to know the names of the players and some information about them. There are four major types of fats:

  • monounsaturated fats
  • polyunsaturated fats
  • saturated fats
  • trans fats

Monounsaturated fats and polyunsaturated fats are known as the “good fats” because they are good for your heart, your cholesterol, and your overall health. Monounsaturated fats:

  • Olive oil
  • Canola oil
  • Sunflower oil
  • Peanut oil
  • Sesame oil
  • Avocados
  • Olives
  • Nuts (almonds, peanuts, macadamia nuts, hazelnuts, pecans, cashews)
  • Peanut butter

Polyunsaturated fats:

  • Soybean oil
  • Corn oil
  • Safflower oil
  • Walnuts
  • Sunflower, sesame, and pumpkin seeds
    Flaxseed
  • Fatty fish (salmon, tuna, mackerel, herring, trout, sardines)
  • Soymilk
  • Tofu

Saturated fats and trans fats are your “killer fats” those are the that make you sick and fat. It is important you understand the difference.

We have become a nation of processed, refined, high preservative foods. We have become a fatter, sicker nation because of our food choices. God says we perish for lack of knowledge, we are literally killing ourselves with the food we are eating. Jesus ate wheat, fruits, seeds, nuts, beans, meat and fish. I use to teach an exercise class about 10 years ago.  My motto was and still is “If God didn’t make it, you shouldn’t eat it.” God made wheat, but he didn’t make white bleached flour, He made sweeteners but not white sugar, God made water but not soda, etc. It is important that we eat to keep our bodies strong and healthy. I’m not saying to give up your favorite foods, just find healthier ways of cooking and eating. Don’t drink your calories. Think about it the only beverage God gave us was water. I did not like to drink water give me a nice cold Pepsi and I was happy, however, once I gained knowledge Pepsi had to go. I learned to drink water and now I can’t be without. It has done wonders for my skin and health.

To find out more information of  the healing properties found in some vegetables, fruits and seeds please click and read God’s Pharmacy.

Today’s challenge is, try to combine one nutritionally balanced meal complete with a protein, complex carbohydrate and healthy fat. LEARN ABOUT THE FOOD AND THEIR HEALING PROPERTIES IT WILL MAKE YOU FEEL and LOOK YOUNGER, BETTER AND MORE ENERGIZED!

God's Pharmacy

God’s Pharmacy

Comment

