Addriana

Did I meet you today?

In Uncategorized on September 15, 2014 at 6:30 AM
IMG_6917

New York City

I usually drive to New York City but this day I decided to take the train. Ready with my notepad and headphones, I was going to block out the world and write…but God had different plans. I sat close to a window, reached into my bag for my pen and pad, then felt a nudge…”you will meet me today.”  I decided to just stay put, no writing or music…just sit and wait. Who would I meet today?

As I gazed out the window, a business woman sat next to me. She was stressed, running late and upset the train was crowded. She cursed under her breath and I smiled at her. She apologized for her words and began to rant about her life being a mess. As a life coach I asked her simple questions, questions that helped refocus and take the next step whatever that may be. To make her mess a possible message and I began to speak life into her situation.  We spoke for about 25 minutes before she knew it, she was laughing at the situation. We strategized ways of staying focused when things are spiraling out of control. In life when we become anxious, fearful or nervous it’s usually because we feel we are limited in handling a situation, circumstance or issue. There is power in words: Proverbs 12:18,  Rash language cuts and maims, but there is healing in the words of the wise.  The more she cursed, the angrier she became, however, speaking life over her and using words to heal her gave the peace she needed to take on the next task. Philippians 4:6-7, Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.Lighten up and your load will be lighter.

Did I meet you today?

Change a moment and you change a forever

Change a moment and you change a forever

She got off and elderly man sat next to me. He told me he was on his way to New York City for a wedding. He traveled from Ireland. At first he was very excited about his travels. We began to speak of his homeland and he explained the unrest between the Protestants and Catholics in Ireland. How “religion” has caused more wars than any single reason in this world. I could see him getting more and more upset; so I simply asked, “How is someone’s life different when you cross their path?’ It stopped his religion rant and he thought for a moment and said, “They are not.”  I asked, “Then how can you change that?” His tone of voice change and in a whisper he said, “It’s not about religion, it’s about relationship.” That is the key, it’s about my influence, your influence, his influence, our influence on each person we cross daily. John 15: 12, Love each other as I [Christ] have loved you. Despite our diverse backgrounds and opinions, my prayer is that we learn to live in harmony, Christ did not come to point a finger, he came to extend a hand of service.

Did I meet you today?

Off the first train on unto the next train, and next story. As I sat, I noticed young man smitten by a pretty young woman. We boarded the train, she walked over to a pole and I sat in front of her. The young man walked over to the pole she was standing by, she was oblivious to his infatuated eyes. I winked at him and nodded toward the girl with a smile, he blushed and made his move. “Those are pretty shoe,” great ice breaker, someone told him if you want to get a girl’s attention, compliment her shoes. However, no one told him they have to be real shoes…she had flip-flops…like plain flip-flops! Her hair was perfect, great smile, cute dress and he chose her flip-flops? They both laughed and chatted the rest of the way about careers, life in NYC, dreams of the future etc. You could feel their positive energy, anticipation of a spark, the butterflies of the “What if’s?” Just so happened they were getting off on the same stop, as he got off he turned and gave me a thumbs up. Alone they were somber but together they are a pair of dreams. Alone you can get stuck in your thoughts, in your story but together with a friend, loved one  you are energized, lifted up and truly living. 1 Corinthians 13:13; And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. What are you anticipating? What is causing that smile on your face? A new job, love, baby etc. Love never fails

Did I meet you today? 

Invisible

You Matter

Just before the doors closed a homeless man jumped in. He began speaking, “Good morning, I can’t sing, dance or do tricks. I am a beggar, asking for a little spare change, even that penny you leave behind at the counter of a coffee shop, would mean something to me. I thank you for your time.” As he was speaking I noticed newspapers got a little higher, headphones went on, heads were bowed and the subway riders wanted nothing to do with this person…rendering God’s creation invisible. My heart broke as he made his way through the car 2-3 people gave him coins. I dug into my purse and took out a few dollars. He bowed his head and made no eye contact. When he reached for the money, I saw he had a badly deformed hand, literally stubs for finger. I held onto the cash and asked him to look at me. When we made eye contact, I told him he was fearfully and wonderfully made. I touched his had and continued to say, “God has a plan for you, you are not a beggar, you are a man of God.” His eye welled up in tears, smiled and what he said to me will be imbedded in my heart and mind forever…”Thank you ma’am for seeing me and not through me…you’ve made me human.” He didn’t continue down the train car begging, with a smile, he got off singing “I am a child of God…He knows my name.” Psalm 42:5, Why are you down in the dumps, dear soul? Why are you crying the blues? Fix my eyes on God—soon I’ll be praising again. He puts a smile on my face. He’s my God.

So many people are existing is a series of inhales and exhales, never being noticed, hidden in the invisibility of their depression, anxieties, fears…(fill in the blank). Every day, every moment, every breath is a moment of life and living. Did you meet yourself in this cast of characters The anxious one? The one complaining about what is happening around them but refusing to be the change? The blushing young man afraid to make a move? The shy woman nervous about saying something silly?  The subway rider avoiding eye contact, afraid someone may see you for who you truly are? Or the Invisible man?

  1. How is someone’s life better after you have crossed their path?
  2. Do you have a tendency of speaking life or death into situations?
  3. Are your series inhales and exhales based on a life living or existing?
  4. What is the next right thing you need to do to get up and make a difference?

I’m not asking you to change the world but you can change one thing in your world.  I challenge you to do the next right thing in your day-to-day. Change a moment and you can change a forever.

Keeping It Simple & Straightforward

  1. Mita, this was beautiful! I truly enjoy it!

    • This was a true eye opener…I could’ve just gone about my own business and miss out on these opportunities, or live it out and enjoy the moments. I choose the latter! It was a great day! Thank you for your encouragement and support!!!

  2. You met me today! Thank you for speaking life into me. I know what I need to do!!!

    • Martina every step you took on your challenge this summer was a step of life. You chose life over simply existing, never waivering or giving up! That is the mark of changing the moment and changing a forever!

  3. Powerful Addriana! Powerful encounters and a powerful message!

  4. Reblogged this on Just Addriana… and commented:

    Who are you…have we met?

Comment

